In Praise of Moms & Long Weekends

First of all, can I just say how much I admire all you moms-who-write out there? I mean, here I am struggling to find the time to get anything writerly done the last couple weeks, and I am cheerfully childless. The other day I watched a friend’s kids, two little people that I completely adore, and there is no way I could have gotten anything productive done beyond keeping the tiny humans in my care happy and healthy. I’m a week late for Mother’s Day, but still, kudos to all the moms out there, writers or not!

It’s been a long week, what with the usual springtime insanity at my “real” job, and then chicks hatching, mares foaling and that anxiety inducing babysitting job which involved my very first time changing a dirty diaper. I did make it 33 years without, which is a pretty good record. Although, given the amount of miscellaneous critter poop I’ve dealt with over the past three decades, a little toddler poop was somewhat anticlimactic.

One of the things I’m trying to get done is the edits on Holding Court, which releases this summer. Struggling with them a little, but it’s also fun to revisit the story and the characters. I was going to post an excerpt for #SatSpanks – Holding Court is definitely the spankiest of my stories! – but then by the time I got organized to do it I’d missed the deadline. Next week then! It’s still over two months til the release date, after all.

It’s May Long this weekend, happy 2-4 to my fellow Canadians! Have fun and stay safe everyone! I’ll be spending my weekend finishing up those edits, getting some veggies planted, and mostly, playing with this little beauty!

DSCN7928

 

 

Leave a Reply

