Into Darkness

Full disclosure: I am, and always have been, a trekkie.

My favorite number is 47. I have red Starfleet shirt with “Uhoh” written on the front of it. Needless to say, I was looking forward to seeing Into Darkness.

All weekend, I’ve been reading some variation of the following on facebook and twitter: “I’m not a trekkie, but Into Darkness was a good movie!”

I’m here to tell you, that it’s even better if you ARE a trekkie.

Possible spoiler alert – don’t worry, nothing serious, I wouldn’t do that to you! 

Even beyond the obvious Wrath of Khan parallels (Which I SO need to rewatch again now!) there are references galore to make my geeky little heart squee with joy. Section 31. Nurse Chapel. Carol Marcus! I kept poking my brother in the theater – but of course, he got them all too, because we were raised on Trek.

Loved Benedict Cumberbatch as the villian, and the cast, I think, is even better than they were in the last movie. I love Chris Pine as Kirk. Heck, who am I kidding, I just love Chris Pine. I regularly rewatch Princess Diaries 2 just because he’s in it being all charming and stuff. But my favorite is Karl Urban as McCoy. Karl Urban is the stuff of fantasies. Or at least, my fantasies.

But really, if you’re not a trekkie, and you loved this movie, you should watch Wrath of Khan and then watch Into Darkness again. And then the rest of the movies (but skip The Motion Picture. And The Final Frontier. And Generations.)  And then you better watch Deep Space 9 for the Section 31 reference. And …. oh hell, just watch it all.

Who wants to go see Into Darkness with me? Because I am definitely going again. Soon.

Leave a Reply

