Blog Hop!

Happy Thanksgiving to all my fellow Canucks! I hope you’re having a weekend full of family, friends and food! Today I’m extra thankful that my old horse, who has been the light of my life for 20 years, came through his surgery with flying colours and is back to his busy, demanding, high energy self, vehemently protesting all my efforts to make him rest while he heals. ❤

Time for a blog hop!

blog-hop-two

I was tagged for this blog post by the always awesome Molly Ann Wishlade – click her banner below to meet her!

And my answers to the blog hop questions!

What are you working on right now?

Building a new chicken coop and horse fences before winter comes. But as soon as it does I’ll be nose to the grindstone on my Outlaw Women series. The first book, The Undercover Outlaw, features a female safecracker who hides her gender to get revenge on an old lover, and the second, The Reluctant Outlaw, is the story of a ranchers widow who hires a rustler to steal back her late husbands cattle. Very excited about this planned six book series!

How does it differ from other works in its genre?

Everyone loves a bad boy, but I wanted to write some women who were willing to do whatever they had to, even if it meant they were on the wrong side of the law.  All of my Outlaw Women are going to challenge the gender roles of the time if some way, and I hope the readers have as much fun reading them as I am writing them.

Why do you write what you do?

I live in the modern west, in the foothills of Southern Alberta, and I grew up enjoying the westerns of Louis L’amour, “borrowed” from my grandpa’s bookshelves. I love the chance to play at the adventure and freedom of the frontier.

How does your writing process work?

I spend a lot of time thinking about my story while I’m doing other things: driving to work, cleaning the barn, any sort of everyday task that doesn’t need my whole brain anymore. I get to know my characters that way, how they got to the situation my story finds them, what’s most important to them, what kind of people they are. When I write, I prefer to write the first draft in a NaNoWriMo type rush, and because I’ve gotten to know my characters I’m pretty comfortable letting them tell the story as it goes along. That’s the best part, writing that first draft, so much fun!

tag-youre-it

I guess that means it’s my turn to tag some authors to play along, hmmm , who do I want to know a little more about …

 

 

 

 

 

Normandie Alleman

LA Cloutier

Renee Rose

One thought on “Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

